Philippians 4:8

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

Had a great church service a while back.  Came away from it knowing that I have to “tend my field.”  I can no longer let the tares – the weeds – grow among the good grain.  So, I’ve been spending a lot of time pulling up weeds.  When I first heard the service, I already barely watched any kind of television; I don’t watch any, now.  I’m tired of seeing all the drinking, drugging, swearing, sexual innuendos, fornication, etc. That’s not the kind of thing I should be filling my mind with.  Philippians 4:8 tells me to concentrate on things that are true, honest, just, lovely, and of good report; tv doesn’t fit the bill.  Nor do movies.  I enjoy mindless entertainment to help me wind down just as much as the next person.  But I’ve noticed: when the mindless entertainment showcases the kind of behavior the Bible tells me I need to have, instead of the stuff that is against the Bible, I feel much better.  I have a better attitude.  My walk with God stays strong, and I spend more time with Him.  So, tv and movies that don’t follow Biblical principles are out.  Which  means tv and movies are out, period, because I’ve never seen a movie that doesn’t have some of the Hollywood junk in it (including the ones that are supposed to be Christian).

Music is another weed; if I can’t worship to it, I’m not going to listen to it.

I’m going to spend a little more time tilling my field, too; more time in the Word and in prayer.  More time spent helping out the kingdom wherever I can.  I can hardly wait until God reveals the changes in me that will occur because of this decision.  It won’t be easy to stick with, but nothing worth it is ever really easy.

What about you?  Are there any tares you feel God telling you to get rid of?

Leave a Reply

